Educational Excellence
School Advisory Council

6611 Country Club Middle School

Verified EESAC Meeting Minutes for:    06/08/2017  03:10 PM

Please contact the school for a formatted hard copy of these minutes.

Recording Secretary:    Josmeen Stephen

Location of meeting:    Room 10

Was a quorum established?    Yes

Was the meeting advertised?    Yes,  06/07/2017


Members Present:

Prado, Cynthia (Principal)
Heras, Alejandro (Union Steward)
Karan-Miyar, Duysevi (Teacher)
Blanco, Caridad (Parent)
Brown, Latasha (Parent)
Certain, Jason (Student)
Rodriguez, Evelyn (Business/Community Representative)

Members Absent (Excused):

Villazon, Jacqueline (Alternate Principal)
Cannon, Claudette (Teacher)
Leon, Michelle (Teacher)
Martin, Myra (Teacher)
Stephen, Josmeen (Teacher)
Coffee Curry, Nicole (Alternate Teacher/Paraprofessional)
Javed, Elba (Educational Support Employee)
Pino, Marisol (Alternate Educational Support)
DeLeon de Cardenas, Maria (Parent)
Hernandez, Deniret (Parent)
Jabali, Tumaini (Parent)
Rodriguez, Jorge (Parent)
Rodriguez, Lizbet (Parent)
Gonzalez, Natalie (Alternate Parent)
Aviles, Miya (Alternate Student)
Boudreaux, Tessa (Business/Community Representative)
Garcia, Maria (Business/Community Representative)

Members Absent (Unexcused):

No one had an unexcused absence.

Others Present:

No one else was present.

Topics Covered:

ESSAC Meeting Minutes
June 8, 2017
Alejandro Heras was acting secretary in absence of Ms. Stephen

Duysevi Karan-Miyar - Teacher/EESAC Committee Chair
Cynthia Prado - Principal
Alejandro Heras Union Representative
Evelyn Rodriguez - Miami Dade College
Latasha Brown - Parent
Caridad Blanco - Parent
Jason Certain - Student

This was an emergency meeting and could not be posted due to the posting timelines not being met.

The meeting was called to order at 3:12 p.m.

Review of the January 20th minutes from the Emergency meeting. Heras motioned to approve the minutes. Ms. Brown seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.(The minutes from the Jan 20 emergency meeting were posted in error without being approved and have been approved at this meeting)

Review of the April 6th minutes. Heras motioned to approve the minutes. Ms. Brown seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved.

Review of the June 1st minutes. There was no Quorum and meeting minutes are only topics discussed . Nothing was voted on. therefore no need for approval.

Review of the June 8th -emergency meeting minutes

Principal's Update - Ms. Prado

Next year, collaborative planning will be different. Grade level courses will plan together. This will help teachers to work together more efficiently to ensure student learning and success. Nonaccountability areas will be included in this process so that students will receive strategic instruction in all classes.

Next year, we will be working on school culture.

Grade incentives are powerful and should be used more so than pizza parties, etc.

Classes will have leveled assignments to meet the needs of their students.

Professional development will be given to help teachers meet the needs of their students.

A teacher survey of the principal will be given to the staff so that the principal can reflect on the year.
anonymous and voluntary

Discipline has been under control. So now the focus will be on giving feedback on classroom instruction.

Continuous Improvement Process
Administrators met with the leadership team.
It was emailed and presented to the staff during a faculty meeting.
The School Improvement survey was done during the faculty meeting.
The principal shared her findings from the continuous Improvement Reflection Worksheet.

The 2016-2017 school improvement survey was done at faculty meeting with all teachers.

EESAC assurances
As per permission from Dr. Demetrius from OSI, we will upload the revised EESAC assurance checklist that was due earlier.
Roster and bylaws will be reviewed and revised and all waivers will be submitted at the beginning of next school year.

EESAC members stay the same for three years, but voted positions are up for a vote every year.

Mr. Heras motioned to adjourn the meeting. Evelyn Rodriguez seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned at 3:33 p.m.