Educational Excellence
School Advisory Council

7071 Coral Gables Senior High School

Verified EESAC Meeting Minutes for:    09/15/2003  02:55 PM

Please contact the school for a formatted hard copy of these minutes.

Recording Secretary:    Dee Orgaz

Location of meeting:    Coral Gables Senior High Media Center

Was a quorum established?    Yes

Was the meeting advertised?    Yes,  08/19/2003


Members Present:

Martinez, Alex (Principal)
Pullum, Fred (Adult/Vocational Principal)
Alvarez, Evonne (Alternate Principal)
Munnerlyn, Paula (Union Steward)
Albalate, Eulalia (Teacher)

Hofmann, Stephanie (Teacher)
Rodriguez, Carmen (Teacher)
Schneider, Hans (Teacher)
Wood, Timothy (Teacher)

Lowman, Mike (Adult/Vocational Teacher)
Brisson, Nicki (Teacher)

Diaz, Angeles (Parent)

Fernandez, Cynthia (Parent)
Olszack, Sue (Parent)
Orgaz, Dee (Parent)
Slingbaum, Cookie (Parent)

Cater, Eve (Alternate Parent)
Taylor, Lee (Alternate Parent)

Rodriguez, Stephanie (Student)
Munoz, Alfred (Alternate Student)
Estrada, Maria (Adult/Vocational Student)

Reitsma, Joan (Business/Community Representative)
Zoller, Christopher (Business/Community Representative)

Members Absent (Excused):

Neal, Timothy (Alternate Teacher/Paraprofessional)
Gonzalez, Richard (Educational Support Employee)
Yanes, Silvia (Alternate Educational Support)
Diaz, Bertha (Parent)
Andrews, David (Alternate Parent)
Fernandez, Amy (Student)
Llanzo, Enrique (Business/Community Representative)

Members Absent (Unexcused):

No one had an unexcused absence.

Others Present:

Camille Rosen

Topics Covered:

The Coral Gables Senior High School EESAC meeting was called to order at 2:56pm, by Stephanie Hofmann, EESAC chairman. A quorum was established. Introductions were made. The minutes of the June 23, 2003 EESAC meeting were presented. Ms. Munnerlyn made a motion to approve these minutes. The motion was seconded. By consensus, these minutes were approved.

Ms. Hofmann, by consensus, was re-elected EESAC chairman. She appointed Nicki Brisson as vice chairman, and Dee Orgaz as recording secretary. The following EESAC committees were established and members appointed:
Budget: Carmen Rodriguez, chairman, Cynthia Fernandez, Laly Albalate,
Cookie Slingbaum, Stephanie Hofmann.
Discipline/Attendance: Paula Munnerlyn, chairman, Tim Wood, Hans
Business/Community Relations: Christopher Zoller, chairman, Joan Reitsma,
Cookie Slingbaum.
Curriculum: Evonne Alvarez, chairman, Lee Taylor, Sue Olszack, Dee Orgaz,
Eve Cater, Stephanie Hofmann.
Bylaws: Dee Orgaz, chairman, Stephanie Hofmann, Nicki Brisson, Joan

Ms. Hofmann distributed a sign up sheet to collect EESAC member telephone numbers and e-mail addresses. In this way, EESAC members can be readily contacted with any information pertaining to EESAC.

Ms. Hofmann distributed copies of the SPEP (draft) to all members present. Mr. Martinez thanked Ms. Alvarez, Ms. Hofmann, and Ms. Brisson for their efforts in compiling this draft copy. The technology objective was eliminated and a writing objective was included. The writing objective was included, by direction of Access Center IV, because one of our subgroups did not make adequate progress on the writing portion of the FCAT. Ms. Hofmann stated that the math and reading objectives were rewritten to meet State and Federal guidelines. Ms. Hofmann requested that any recommendations to the SPEP (draft) be given to her by Thursday, September 18th. EESAC will meet again on Monday, September 22nd to approve the final draft of the SPEP. The SPEP is due to Access Center IV on Wednesday, September 24th.

Mr. Martinez stated that our enrollment is now 3652 students. Approximately 230 of these students are opportunity and NCLB voucher students. Approximately 70 of these students are McKay voucher students. We have 26 new faculty members and we have more money to hire teachers. However, we do not have the classroom space. The administration and faculty are doing the best possible to accommodate our students and to provide a safe learning environment. Our enrollment has fluctuated in the past, and will probably continue to do so.

Ms. Hofmann stated that all EESAC committee meetings will be posted. She will inquire about the official notification of these meetings to the Citizens Information Center. The EESAC general meetings must be noticed to the CIC and to the EESAC members five business days prior to the meeting.

The budget committee will meet on September 29th at 2:45pm, in the Coral Café. The committee recommendations will be presented at the October 13th EESAC meeting.

Ms. Hofmann announced that the next EESAC meeting will be held on Monday, October 13, 2003, at 2:45pm, in the Media Center. The meeting was adjourned by Ms. Hofmann, EESAC chairperson, at 4:15pm.