Educational Excellence
School Advisory Council

7071 Coral Gables Senior High School

Verified EESAC Meeting Minutes for:    08/22/2005  02:50 PM

Please contact the school for a formatted hard copy of these minutes.

Recording Secretary:    Carmen Rodriguez

Location of meeting:    Coral Gables Senior Media Center

Was a quorum established?    No

Was the meeting advertised?    Yes,  08/09/2005


Members Present:

Martinez, Alex (Principal)
Otero, Josephine (Alternate Principal)
Blackmon, Daniel (Union Steward)
Brisson, Nicki (Teacher)
Hofmann, Stephanie (Teacher)
Munnerlyn, Paula (Teacher)
Rodriguez, Carmen (Teacher)
Schneider, Hans (Teacher)
Lowman, Mike (Adult/Vocational Teacher)
Gonzalez, Richard (Educational Support Employee)
Garcia, Jackie (Parent)
Watson, Sharon (Parent)
Fernandez, Samantha (Student)
Wong, Tere (Business/Community Representative)
Zoller, Christopher (Business/Community Representative)
Betancur, Judith (Adult/Vocational Student)

Members Absent (Excused):

Pullum, Fred (Adult/Vocational Principal)
Albalate, Eulalia (Teacher)
Neal, Timothy (Alternate Teacher/Paraprofessional)
Yanes, Silvia (Alternate Educational
Cabrera, Olga (Parent)
Caicedo, Jorge (Parent) Support)
Garcia, Miriam (Parent)
Orgaz, Dee (Parent)
Fernandez, Cynthia (Alternate Parent)
Ordonez, Ebet (Alternate Parent)
Otero, Maria (Alternate Parent)
Pantoja, Nancy (Alternate Parent)
Mazzoli, Christina (Student)
Sanchez, Dulce (Alternate Student)
Reitsma, Joan (Business/Community Representative)

Members Absent (Unexcused):

No one had an unexcused absence.

Others Present:

Miret, Humberto
Diaz, Bertha
Maer, Miriam

Topics Covered:

The Coral Gables Senior High School EESAC meeting was called to order at 2:50 pm, by chairperson, Stephanie Hofmann. A quorum was established. Introductions were made. Ms. Hofmann distributed copies of the minutes of the ESSAC April 11, 2005 meeting. A motion was made to approve the minutes of the April 11, 2005 meeting as presented. The motion was seconded. By consensus, ESSAC approved the minutes of the April 11, 2005 EESAC meeting as presented.

Mr. Christopher Zoller presented a motion to nominate Stephanie Hofmann as the 2005- 06 chairperson of the EESAC Committee. Jackie Garcia seconded the motion. By consensus, EESAC unanimously elected Stephanie Hofmann as chairperson of the EESAC Committee for the 2005-06 school year. There were no other nominations. Ms. Hofmann selected Ms. Nicki Brisson to be the
Vice-chairperson and Dee Orgaz to be recording secretary. Copies of the new member roster were distributed for changes or corrections.

Dr. Martinez thanked everyone for being present. He proceeded to give an update of FCAT scores and their impact on Coral Gables High School. This year the Secondary School Reform requires all 9th and 10th grade level 1 & 2 students to be placed in remedial reading classes. There are now 36 remedial reading classes in the school. There are 20 remedial math classes. Students needing to take remedial classes have less opportunities to take elective classes. All available classrooms are being used, since we have been required to reduce class size. Our biggest problem still remains a lack of rooms. Teachers in elective courses are teaching remedial reading. Advanced Placement monies will be used for hiring additional personnel and textbooks.

Ms. Otero, the new Assistant Principal for Curriculum introduced herself and expressed her familiarity with EESAC. She explained that Coral Gables High School gained 30 points on the FCAT last year. Coral Gables High School is only 6 points away from reaching a B grade. Gains were made in both reading and math although scores went down in writing. The theme for Coral Gables High School this year is “Reach to 'B' the best.” Ms. Otero stated that the following measures were taken last year to help increase test scores.

1. Level 1 & 2 students were pulled out of elective classes in order to receive tutoring.
2. Saturday School was held.
3. After school tutoring was available.
4. Flexible scheduling was provided so that ESE and ESOL students could receive extended time to complete the FCAT.
This year the following measures will be implemented, in addition to those stated above.

1. All Level 1 students in 9th and 10th grade, will be placed in intensive reading. Students on a K- 5 grade reading level will be placed together, those students on a 6th -8th grade reading level will also be placed together.
2. Class size will be reduced.
3. Level 2 9th and 10th graders will be placed in homogeneous English classes.
4. 360 11th and 12th grade students will be retaking the FCAT. They have been placed in remedial reading classes as well. The FCAT exam will be administered to these students during the last week of September.

Ms. Munnerlyn pointed out that all instructional staff teaching remedial reading classes were meeting each Monday to plan and prepare strategies for helping students increase their reading skills. She explained the Ms. Shepard, Reading Dept Chairperson, is conducting these meetings. Ms. Shepard will also be available to teach lessons.

Ms. Hofmann and Ms Otero explained that the School Improvement Plan was in the process of being revamped by the district and that it may be completely different from before. The District would be providing a training in the near future. The completed plan is due Oct. 7th.

Ms. Hofmann proceeded to establish the different EESAC committees:

Ms. Rodriguez volunteered to chair the Budget Committee. The following members volunteered to become members:
1. Tere Wong
2. Richard Gonzalez
3. Josephine Otero
4. Samantha Fernandez
The first meeting is scheduled for 8/29/05, in room 708 at 2:45 pm. Department heads will be advised to make budget requests no later than August 24th.

Ms. Munnerlyn volunteered to head the Discipline and Attendance Committee. The following members volunteered to serve:
1. Sharon Watson
2. Josephine Otero
3. Ms. Fernandez

Mr. Zoller volunteered to head the Business and Community Relations Committee. The following members volunteered to serve:
1. Joan Reitsma
2. Tere Wong

Ms. Brisson volunteered for head the Curriculum Committee. The following members volunteered to serve:
1. Josephine Otero
2. Stephanie Hofmann
3. Carmen Rodriguez
4. Sharon Watson
5. Christina Mazzoli

Ms. Hofmann stated the next EESAC will be held on September 12th , 2005. The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 pm.