Educational Excellence
School Advisory Council

7071 Coral Gables Senior High School

Verified EESAC Meeting Minutes for:    11/14/2005  02:50 PM

Please contact the school for a formatted hard copy of these minutes.

Recording Secretary:    Dee Orgaz

Location of meeting:    Coral Gables Senior High Media Center

Was a quorum established?    Yes

Was the meeting advertised?    Yes,  10/12/2005


Members Present:

Martinez, Alex (Principal)
Pullum, Fred (Adult/Vocational Principal)
Otero, Josephine (Alternate Principal)
Blackmon, Daniel (Union Steward)
Albalate, Eulalia (Teacher)
Brisson, Nicki (Teacher)
Hofmann, Stephanie (Teacher)
Munnerlyn, Paula (Teacher)
Rodriguez, Carmen (Teacher)
Schneider, Hans (Teacher)
Lowman, Mike (Adult/Vocational Teacher)
Gonzalez, Richard (Educational Support Employee)
Garcia, Jackie (Parent)
Garcia, Miriam (Parent)
Orgaz, Dee (Parent)
Watson, Sharon (Parent)
Otero, Maria (Alternate Parent)
Sanchez, Dulce (Alternate Student)
Betancur, Judith (Adult/Vocational Student)
Reitsma, Joan (Business/Community Representative)
Wong, Tere (Business/Community Representative)
Zoller, Christopher (Business/Community Representative)

Members Absent (Excused):

Neal, Timothy (Alternate Teacher/Paraprofessional)
Yanes, Silvia (Alternate Educational Support)
Cabrera, Olga (Parent)
Caicedo, Jorge (Parent)
Fernandez, Cynthia (Alternate Parent)
Ordonez, Ebet (Alternate Parent)
Pantoja, Nancy (Alternate Parent)
Fernandez, Samantha (Student)
Mazzoli, Christina (Student)

Members Absent (Unexcused):

No one had an unexcused absence.

Others Present:

Carmen Jones-Carey

Topics Covered:

The Coral Gables Senior High School EESAC meeting was called to order at 2:50p.m., by chairman, Stephanie Hofmann. Introductions were made. A quorum was established. The minutes of the October 6, 2005 EESAC meeting was distributed to all present. Ms. Watson made a motion to approve the minutes of the October 6, 2005 EESAC meeting as presented. The motion was seconded. By consensus, the minutes of the October 6, 2005 EESAC meeting were approved.

Ms. Otero distributed copies of the final draft of the School Improvement Plan to all present. She stated that grammatical and wording changes were made by the Region. Mr. Blackmon questioned the wording of strategy #3, Measurable Objective, Goal I: Reading. Ms. Otero stated that the wording will be deleted at the Region mid year review. Mr. Lowman asked for the definition of “ROI” on page 3, Executive Summary. Ms. Otero stated that “ROI” stands for Return On Investment.

Ms. Otero stated that damage from hurricane Wilma was minimal, additional tree damage, no water leaks or damage, and a palm tree fell on the fountain in the center courtyard and broke part of the fountain. She stated that the MDSB will vote on a schedule of make up days at the November 16th meeting. The FCAT writing test will not be rescheduled. The District has asked for a one week postponement of the other FCAT tests. The Winter Formal cannot be rescheduled and will take place on December 15th. Cav Crash will be held tomorrow at 7pm. The Prom and Graduation have not been addressed yet. Ms. Suarez will be addressing these events.

Ms. Jones-Carey distributed copies of SPA to all present. She stated that this brochure, Saturday Parent Academy, will be distributed to all Level I, Level II, and all other students who have not passed the FCAT. Dr. Pullum stated that he will pay the postage to mail the brochures if they are placed in an envelope, addressed, and sorted by zip code. Ms. Jones-Carey stated that Gables is 6th in attendance in the District.

During Open Forum, Ms. Orgaz expressed a concern about M & M bus service picking up students on LeJeune Road. Dr. Martinez stated that he will contact this company about the pick up and drop off policy. Dr. Martinez stated that the custodial staff did an outstanding job of cleaning up and preparing the school for opening after the hurricane.

The next EESAC meeting will be held on Monday, December 12, 2005 at 2:45pm, in the Media Center. The EESAC rneeting was adjourned at 3:30pm, by Ms. Hofmann, Chairman.