Educational Excellence
School Advisory Council

7071 Coral Gables Senior High School

Verified EESAC Meeting Minutes for:    08/24/2006  02:50 PM

Please contact the school for a formatted hard copy of these minutes.

Recording Secretary:    Dee Orgaz

Location of meeting:    Coral Gables Senior High Media Center

Was a quorum established?    Yes

Was the meeting advertised?    Yes,  09/01/2006


Members Present:

Gans, Jo Anne D (Principal)
Otero, Josephine (Alternate Principal)
Blackmon, Daniel (Union Steward)
Brisson, Nicki (Teacher)
Hofmann, Stephanie (Teacher)
Hyatt, Iris (Teacher)
Rodriguez, Carmen (Teacher)
Zequeira, Otto (Alternate Teacher/Paraprofessional)
Lowman, Mike (Adult/Vocational Teacher)
Gonzalez, Richard (Educational Support Employee)
Brennan, Eileen (Parent)
Levenstein, Sonia (Parent)
Orgaz, Dee (Parent)
Salazar, Liz (Parent)
Watson, Sharon (Parent)
Garcia, Jackie (Alternate Parent)
Hernandez, Robert (Alternate Parent)
Lara, Brittany (Student)
Lopez, Albert (Student)
Navarro, Andrew (Alternate Student)
Betancur, Judith (Adult/Vocational Student)
Reitsma, Joan (Business/Community Representative)
Zoller, Christopher (Business/Community Representative)

Members Absent (Excused):

Pullum, Fred (Adult/Vocational Principal)
Albalate, Eulalia (Teacher)
Acosta, Elisabeth (Parent)
Munnerlyn, Paula (Teacher)
Yanes, Silvia (Alternate Educational Support)
Ordonez, Ebet (Alternate Parent)
Wong, Tere (Business/Community Representative)

Members Absent (Unexcused):

No one had an unexcused absence.

Others Present:

Bertha Diaz
Ana Fors

Topics Covered:

The Coral Gables Senior High School EESAC meeting was called to order by chairperson, Stephanie Hofmann, at 2:50pm. A quorum was established. Introductions were made. Ms. Watson made a motion to accept the EESAC minutes of May 26, 2006 as presented. The motion was seconded. By consensus, EESAC accepted the EESAC minutes of May 26, 2006 as presented. Mr. R. Gonzalez made a motion to elect Ms. Hofmann chairperson of EESAC for the 2006-2007 school year. The motion was seconded. By unanimous consensus, Ms. Hofmann was elected EESAC chairperson for the 2006-2007 school year. Ms. Hofmann appointed Ms. Brisson vice chairperson and Ms. Orgaz recording secretary of EESAC for the 2006-2007 school year. Ms. Hofmann distributed copies of the EESAC bylaws and roster to all present.

Ms. Gans distributed copies of the Overview of CGHS Data to all parent, student, night school, and business/community representatives. All faculty EESAC members had previously received this information. Ms. Gans discussed the information and stated that 31% of students tested scored 3 or above on the Science component.

Ms. Gans stated that the School Improvement Plan training will be held on Friday, September 1st. This will take place at the Region IV office.

Ms. Gans presented and discussed the budget for the 2006-2007 school year. The total amount available as of August 24, 2006 is: $8,946,241.00. The FTE as of the same date is: 3421. The actual enrollment as of the above date is: 3524 students. She stated that the magnet program generates supplemental money for the school.

Ms. Hofmann distributed copies of the 2005-2006 No Child Left Behind School Public Accountability report to all present.

Ms. Hofmann appointed the following EESAC committee members:
Budget: Ms. C. Rodriguez, chairperson, Ms. Gans, Ms. Hofmann, Ms. B. Diaz, Mr. R. Gonzalez, Ms. Hyatt, Mr. Zequeira, and Ms. Fors.
Attendance/Discipline: Ms. Brisson, chairperson, Ms. Otero, Ms. Garcia, Ms. Watson.
Business/Communities Relations: Ms. Reitsma, chairperson, Marcus Dixon, Ms. A. Suarez, Mr. Zoller, Ms. Salazar, Mr. Hernandez, Ms. Abalate.
Curriculum: Ms. Otero, chairperson, Ms. Lara, Ms. Hyatt, Mr. Lopez, Mr. Blackmon, Ms. Watson, Ms. Fors.

Open Forum

Ms. Orgaz stated that all EESAC members should receive and review the EESAC bylaws. She also stated that a member who has two consecutive unexcused absences from EESAC meetings is considered to have resigned.

Mr. Blackmon, UTD, discussed various salary issues that are in discussion with the UTD and the MDPS. Mr. Zequeira made a motion that the EESAC propose an eight period waiver to include a target of twenty-five students per class and reduce the number of teacher assessments from two per week to three every two weeks. The motion was seconded. Ms. Orgaz made a motion to table this motion. The motion was seconded. By consensus, EESAC tabled the motion.

Ms. Hofmann stated that the next EESAC meeting will be held on Monday, September 11, 2006 at 2:45pm, in the Media Center. Ms. Hofmann adjourned the meeting at 4:10pm.